The Wayne D. McMurray School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dean: Kenneth Womack, PhD

Associate Dean: Nancy Mezey, PhD

Associate Dean: Michael Paul Thomas, MFA

The Wayne D. McMurray School of Humanities and Social Sciences offers seven master’s degree programs (Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Corporate and Public Communication, Criminal Justice, English, and History as well as twenty-three undergraduate degree programs. Graduate certificates are offered in archaeology, professional counseling, and three specific areas of communication. All programs of study are directed toward preparing students for working and living in a global environment.

Study in the humanities and social sciences and related professional fields provide valuable perspectives and skills necessary for both the job market and community life. Among our academic goals are proficiency in all forms of communication, such as scientific literacy; an appreciation for the diversity of people and ideas and the ability to collaborate with others; stimulation of aesthetic sensitivity and creative expression; and the ability to think and react critically.

Within the School of Humanities and Social Sciences are the Freed Chair in Social Science endowed through a gift from the Gerald Freed Foundation, the Jules Plangere Jr. Chair in American Social History endowed through a gift of Life Trustee Jules Plangere Jr., and the McMurray-Bennett Endowed Chair in the Humanities. Professor Kristen Bluemel of the English Department occupies the Wayne D. McMurray-Bennett Chair.