Leon Hess Business School

Leon Hess Business School

Dean: Raj Devasagayam, Ph.D.
Associate Dean: Gilda Agacer, Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Student Engagement: Janeth Merkle, M.B.A., MM
M.B.A. Program Director: Jonathan Daigle, Ph.D., M.B.A.

The Leon Hess Business School (LHBS) is currently ranked in the top 300 of the 2,000 schools of business in the United States, is a community of teacher-scholars educating students to develop strong leadership skills in achieving organizational excellence and sustainability: the integrated strategic management of interlocking economic, social, technological and ecological systems in which organizations operate. The LHBS is accredited by AACSB International — the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. AACSB accreditation is the hallmark of excellence in business education, and has been earned by less than 5 percent of the world’s business programs. Today, there are 727 business schools in 48 countries and territories that maintain AACSB accreditation.

The M.B.A. program is designed to develop a comprehensive background in the theory and practice of business management decision-making and concentrates on contemporary managerial responsibilities in a dynamic environment. All curricula underscore the complexity and diversity of managerial decisions in the global economy. Instruction in small-size classes stresses close contact with faculty and promotes collaborative work.

Within the LHBS are two Centers of Distinction.

  1. The first is the Kislak Real Estate Institute. The Institute is the first such program to provide an undergraduate academic credit- bearing real estate education in the State of New Jersey.
  2. The second, the Center for Entrepreneurship is directed by Dr. Joseph McManus of the Management and Decision Sciences Department. The Center has been nationally recognized for its innovative teaching in the field of entrepreneurship and product designs. 

The School of Business is most fortunate to have two professors who are endowed Chairs.

  • Professor Donald Moliver holds the Steven and Elaine Pozycki Endowed Professor Chair in Real Estate.
  • Professor Robert Scott holds the Arthur and Dorothy Greenbaum/Robert Ferguson/NJAR Endowed Chair in Real Estate Policy.

Student Honor Society: Beta Gamma Sigma

The top 20 percent of M.B.A. graduates and 10 percent of undergraduate junior and senior students are eligible for election to Beta Gamma Sigma, the International Honor Society for Accredited business schools.