The Wayne D. McMurray School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dean: Kenneth Womack, PhD

Associate Dean: Nancy Mezey, PhD

Associate Dean: Michael Paul Thomas, MFA

The Wayne D. McMurray School of Humanities and Social Sciences prepares students for lifelong learning and effective engagement with a changing world. The humanities give critical insight into aspects of thought, values, and achievement in all times and places. The social sciences contribute an understanding of the structure and function of society. Both areas provide a foundation for major courses of study that prepare students for productiveness and responsibility in both their careers and civic life. Undergraduate and graduate curricula provide strong programs that prepare students for successful entry into professions and advanced study. The School of Humanities and Social Sciences fosters critical, social, political, and cultural thought by creating new knowledge, sound, and art. By doing so, the school creates an intentional active learning environment through which students can  make a meaningful and long lasting impact. 

The Wayne D. McMurray School offers twenty-three undergraduate degree programs and master’s degrees in:

  • Addiction Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Clinical Mental Health Counseling
  • Corporate and Public Communication
  • Criminal Justice
  • English
  • History

Among our academic goals are proficiency in all forms of communication; an appreciation for the diversity of people and ideas and the ability to collaborate with others; stimulation of aesthetic sensitivity and creative expression; and the ability to think and react critically. Interdisciplinary studies are encouraged. All majors provide options for minors, double majors, concentrations, and interdisciplinary studies.

Within the School of Humanities and Social Sciences are the Freed Chair in Social Science endowed through a gift from the Gerald Freed Foundation, the Jules Plangere Jr. Chair in American Social History endowed through a gift of Life Trustee Jules Plangere Jr., and the McMurray-Bennett Endowed Chair in the Humanities. Professor Kristen Bluemel of the English Department occupies the Wayne D. McMurray-Bennett Chair.